Documentation-based comparison
Plausible Analytics versus PostHog
Compare documented scope and conditions. Unknowns remain unknown; different billing units do not establish a cost winner.
What the evidence answers
A reading of reviewed official documentation for Plausible Analytics and PostHog. It is not a hands-on test, a ranking or a recommendation of one product.
Price
- Plausible Analytics Advertised price · currency unconfirmed
- Starter: 9.00 (currency not stated) billing period not stated
- PostHog Free plan · paid prices not verified
- Free: no subscription charge
A complete like-for-like price comparison is not established; the next checks say what is missing.
Documented for both
- Retention
- Plausible Analytics Starter: 3 years
- PostHog Free: 1 year
Limits to check
- Plausible Analytics Starter lists one site and three years of retention. The page uses a price selector; currency code, selected billing term and checkout total are not established here.
- PostHog Analytics, replay and feature flags have different usage allowances. Free has one project and one year of retention; adding a card enables paid usage.
Not verified yet
No reviewed evidence for either product on exports.
Documented for one product only, shown in the table below: Plausible Analytics: privacy and sites; PostHog: events and projects.
Not verified means our reviewed sources do not establish it. It does not mean a product lacks the capability or that it costs nothing.
Next steps
- Confirm the currency of Plausible Analytics's displayed price at checkout.
- Confirm whether Plausible Analytics's displayed price is billed monthly or annually.
- Confirm PostHog's paid plan prices, billing term and taxes on its official pricing page; only its free plan is verified here.
- Ask Plausible Analytics about exports, events and projects; our sources do not establish them yet.
- Ask PostHog about exports, privacy and sites; our sources do not establish them yet.
| Requirement | Plausible Analytics | PostHog |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Advertised price · currency unconfirmed | Free plan · paid prices not verified |
| Who it is for | Website analytics with a compact dashboard, goals and custom events. Verified Oct 18, 2026 · Plausible Analytics: official product and pricing documentation | Analytics based on events, alongside separately metered replay, feature flags and other products. Verified Oct 18, 2026 · PostHog: official product and pricing documentation |
| Coverage limits | Starter lists one site and three years of retention. The page uses a price selector; currency code, selected billing term and checkout total are not established here. Verified Oct 18, 2026 · Plausible Analytics: official product and pricing documentation | Analytics, replay and feature flags have different usage allowances. Free has one project and one year of retention; adding a card enables paid usage. Verified Oct 18, 2026 · PostHog: official product and pricing documentation |
| Events | Not verified |
|
| Retention |
|
|
| Privacy | Vendor describes an EU-hosted, privacy-friendly service without a required cookie banner. Vendor description of this analytics service; not a legal assessment of the buyer’s whole website. Verified Oct 18, 2026 · Plausible Analytics: official product and pricing documentation | Not verified |
| Sites |
| Not verified |
| Projects | Not verified |
|
| Coverage note | Official documentation checked on 18 October 2026; no hands-on test. | Official documentation checked on 18 October 2026; no hands-on test. |
1 requirement without reviewed evidence here
Not verified means the reviewed sources do not establish it; it does not mean a product lacks it or that it costs nothing.
- Exports Plausible Analytics: not verified · PostHog: not verified