Evidence checked Oct 11, 2026

Verified Oct 11, 2026 via WP Engine plans and pricing, annual billing viewWordPress hosting

WP Engine

Managed WordPress hosting with security, updates and performance management included on every plan.

Verified facts
23
Plans
3
Sources
3
Pricing
Documented

Overview

What WP Engine does

WP Engine runs managed WordPress hosting with security, updates and performance management on every plan. Essential uses shared resources and covers 1 to 30 sites depending on the capacity tier; Core uses isolated resources for 30 to 50 sites, and Enterprise is custom. It suits a business or agency that wants a managed platform with staging and backups for several sites.

What you pay

Essential starts at USD 35 a month with monthly billing, or USD 336 a year paid upfront, shown as USD 28 a month (20% less). The annual price carries first-year offer terms for new customers buying Essential, and the page says renewal pricing is subject to change. Taxes and overages may apply at checkout.

Essential is sold in capacity tiers: 1 site with 25,000 visits and 10 GB, up to 3 sites with 75,000 visits and 15 GB, up to 10 sites with 100,000 visits and 20 GB, and up to 30 sites with 400,000 visits and 50 GB. The pricing page gives only the starting price, not the price of each tier. Extra sites cost USD 20 a month. Core starts at USD 400 a month through sales.

Limits that change the choice

Essential includes 75 GB of bandwidth, and WP Engine calls its visit numbers estimates. Sites are not throttled during traffic spikes; visits above the plan are charged as overages, billed monthly even on an annual plan. The published overage rate, USD 2 per 1,000 extra visitors, names older plans and not Essential.

Backups, restores and staging

Every plan has daily automatic and on-demand backups, kept for 30 to 60 days. A restore overwrites the whole site with the chosen backup point and can take from a few minutes to several hours. One-click staging and development environments are included on all plans, and Essential includes 24/7 technical support and a free automated migration plugin.

What the documentation leaves open

The plan table keeps backups for 30 to 60 days, while the backup article says 30 days. The page does not show tier prices, the renewal price or the overage rate for Essential. Ask for all three in writing before committing to an annual term.

When to compare alternatives

Kinsta publishes its overage rates (for example USD 0.50 per 1,000 visits) and starts at USD 35 a month after a free first month on select plans. Flywheel prices its plans by sites and visits too, with USD 1 per 1,000 extra visitors. Pressable states USD 1.20 per 1,000 extra visits and includes staging and sandbox sites for every install.

Before you buy

Count your sites and monthly visits, then pick the capacity tier and ask WP Engine for its exact price and renewal rate. If your traffic is spiky, get the overage rate for Essential confirmed. Test a restore on a staging copy so you know how long it takes for your site.

Plans & prices

Prices as listed by WP Engine, before any tax or fee the pricing page does not state. Each billing term is a separate price.

Scroll the table sideways for every column.

PlanBilled monthlyBilled annuallyWebsitesStorageTraffic or visitsIntroductory rateCommitmentMigrationSupport
Essential
$35/mo
$336/yr$336/mo for 12 months$28/mo equivalent
1 site, 25,000 visits a month, 10 GB; Up to 3 sites, 75,000 visits, 15 GB; Up to 10 sites, 100,000 visits, 20 GB; Up to 30 sites, 400,000 visits, 50 GB10–50 GB25,000–400,000 visits a month and 75 GB bandwidthFirst-year pricing and coupons apply only to new customers buying Essential, once at signup.Monthly or annual billing; annual saves 20%.Not stated24/7 technical support
Core
$400/mo
Not listed30–50 sitesNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedManaged migration servicesNot stated
EnterpriseQuoteNot listedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Billing notes (4)
  • Essential: Starting price with monthly billing. The page does not state which capacity tier (1 site with 25,000 visits up to 30 sites with 400,000 visits) the starting price buys. Taxes and overages may apply at checkout.
  • Essential: Starting price billed annually: USD 336 due today, shown as USD 28 a month (20% less than monthly). The page does not state which capacity tier (1 site with 25,000 visits up to 30 sites with 400,000 visits) the starting price buys. The renewal price is not stated.
  • Core: Starting price; Core is bought through sales ("Get in touch"). The billing term is not stated.
  • Enterprise: Custom pricing through sales.

WP Engine plans and pricing, annual billing view, checked Oct 11, 2026

Documented facts

Each fact comes from official documentation and shows when it was verified.

Sources & methodology

Facts come from the linked documentation. Documentation checks are not hands-on tests, and readable sources can have incomplete coverage.

Retrieved Oct 11, 2026
Retrieved Oct 11, 2026
Retrieved Oct 11, 2026

Discovered an undocumented discrepancy or pricing shift? Submit a correction request.

Submit correction

More WordPress hosting tools

Compare documented scope side by side. Different billing units do not establish a cost winner.