Workato
Enterprise integration and process automation platform sold by edition, with workflows called recipes.
- Verified facts
- 20
- Plans
- 4
- Sources
- 4
- Pricing
- Quote only
Overview
What Workato does
Workato is an enterprise platform for application integration, process automation, APIs, data integration and AI agents; its workflows are called recipes. It sells four editions, Standard, Business MCP, Enterprise MCP and Workato ONE, each including the one before. It suits an IT or operations team that governs automation across many systems, not a small team looking for a monthly plan.
How usage is counted
Recipes are measured in Tasks. A Task is one action step a recipe executes. Triggers and control-flow steps such as IF conditions, loops and error handlers do not count, but each step inside a loop counts once per iteration: one action plus two actions in a loop over 5 rows uses 1 + (2 × 5) = 11 Tasks. A bulk or batch action counts as 1 Task however many records it handles, and steps that succeed still count if the job later fails.
Workato's billing documentation says this usage is converted into Workato credits, one balance shared by workflows, document processing, APIs and agents, and that some contracts measure usage differently, for example in Business actions. Ask which unit your contract uses. AI by Workato steps count as more than one Task each, at a rate set in the contract, and Genies are measured per prompt.
What you pay
No price is published for any edition; pricing and plan structure depend on your contract and when you joined. Extra concurrency and on-premises agents are add-ons billed separately from usage. Taxes and overage rates are not stated.
Limits that change the choice
Concurrency, the number of recipe jobs processed at once, is 1 on Standard and Business MCP, 15 on Enterprise MCP and 30 on Workato ONE. Log retention is 30 days on Standard and a flexible 90 days on Enterprise MCP. Reaching on-premises apps or databases needs an on-premises agent: Business MCP includes 3, Enterprise MCP 10 and Workato ONE 30. Workato includes 1,200+ pre-built connectors for every user, and unlimited workspaces and users.
What the documentation leaves open
Task or credit allowances, the Task cost of AI by Workato steps and any overage rate are contract terms, not published. The pricing page talks about tracking "task consumption", while the billing documentation describes credits. Trigger polling intervals are not covered on the pages reviewed.
When to compare alternatives
Tray.ai is the closest comparison: also sold by quote, but it counts the trigger and logic steps such as loops and booleans as tasks, which Workato does not. Power Automate publishes per-user and per-bot prices for organisations on Microsoft tools. For a small team, Zapier publishes self-serve tiers from a free plan.
Before you buy
Bring a recipe inventory to the sales call: actions per job, typical loop sizes and jobs per month for each recipe, so you can check the Task or credit allowance in the quote. Ask for the AI step rate, the overage terms and which edition gives the concurrency and on-premises agents you need.
Plans & prices
Workato does not publish plan prices. The plan terms below come from its official pages.
Scroll the table sideways for every column.
| Plan | Price | Included volume | Premium integrations | Hosting responsibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | Quote | 1 concurrent job; 30-day log retention | Not stated | Not stated |
| Business MCP | Quote | 1 concurrent job | Not stated | 3 on-premises agents |
| Enterprise MCP | Quote | 15 concurrent jobs; flexible 90-day log retention | Data pipelines, Event streams, Intelligent document processing, AI by Workato | 10 on-premises agents |
| Workato ONE | Quote | 30 concurrent jobs | Not stated | 30 on-premises agents |
Billing notes (4)
- Standard: No price is published; pricing and plan structure depend on your contract. Application integration and process automation, dev/test/production environments, 30-day log retention, 1 concurrency.
- Business MCP: No price is published; pricing and plan structure depend on your contract. Adds pre-built MCP servers, AI/MCP gateway, data integration, API platform and 3 on-premises agents.
- Enterprise MCP: No price is published; pricing and plan structure depend on your contract. Adds data pipelines, event streams, document processing, AI by Workato, 90-day log retention, 10 on-premises agents and 15 concurrency.
- Workato ONE: No price is published; pricing and plan structure depend on your contract. Adds Agent Studio, Knowledge Base and Workato GO, 30 on-premises agents and 30 concurrency.
Workato pricing page rendered: platform editions and FAQ, checked Oct 11, 2026
Documented facts
Each fact comes from official documentation and shows when it was verified.
Who it is for
Enterprise integration and process automation platform sold by edition, with workflows called recipes.
Coverage limits
Concurrency: 1 job at a time on Standard and Business MCP, 15 on Enterprise MCP, 30 on Workato ONE
Concurrency is the number of recipe jobs processed at the same time; quantities are totals per edition. The passage starts at the end of the Standard block.
Usage definition
Triggers do not count as Tasks, whatever the connector; Each action step counts as 1 Task, in any connector; Control-flow steps (IF, loops, Stop job, error handlers) do not count; steps inside them count each time they run, once per loop iteration; Successful steps count even if the job later fails; Document-processing pages and Event streams events are measured separately, not as Tasks; A bulk or batch action counts as 1 Task however many records it processes; AI by Workato action steps count as more than one Task each, at a rate set in your contract
Workato example: one action plus two actions in a loop over 5 rows uses 11 Tasks. Some contracts measure Business actions or Workato credits instead of Tasks.
Included volume
Usage draws on one purchased balance of Workato credits shared by workflows, document processing and agents.
No credit or Task allowance is published; some plans measure usage differently. Add-ons such as extra concurrency and on-premises agents are billed separately from credit usage.
Premium integrations
1,200+ pre-built connectors included for every user; Unlimited workspaces and users
Extra concurrency and on-premises agents are add-ons billed separately from usage; other listed add-ons include RPA, EDI, Private Link, Workflow Apps and Virtual Private Workato.
Hosting responsibility
Connecting on-premises apps and databases requires an on-premises gateway (agent).
AI charges
Genies (agents) are measured per prompt sent, by users or by systems; Skills are included when a Genie invokes them and billed as Tasks when invoked over MCP
AI by Workato action steps count as more than one Task each, at a contract rate.
Overage charges
No overage rate is published; Workato offers to help forecast usage and prevent overconsumption.
Not confirmed in our sources
The official pages we reviewed do not state these terms for Workato. That does not mean Workato lacks them; confirm them before you rely on them.
- Trigger polling
Sources & methodology
Facts come from the linked documentation. Documentation checks are not hands-on tests, and readable sources can have incomplete coverage.
Discovered an undocumented discrepancy or pricing shift? Submit a correction request.
Submit correctionMore Workflow automation tools
Compare documented scope side by side. Different billing units do not establish a cost winner.