Documentation-based comparison
Make versus Workato
Compare documented scope and conditions. Unknowns remain unknown; different billing units do not establish a cost winner.
What the evidence answers
A reading of reviewed official documentation for Make and Workato. It is not a hands-on test, a ranking or a recommendation of one product.
Price
- Make From $9
- Free: no subscription charge
- Core: $9.00 billing period not stated
- Pro: $16.00 billing period not stated
- Teams: $29.00 billing period not stated
- Enterprise: Vendor quotation required
- Workato Quote only
- Standard: Vendor quotation required
- Business MCP: Vendor quotation required
- Enterprise MCP: Vendor quotation required
- Workato ONE: Vendor quotation required
A complete like-for-like price comparison is not established; the next checks say what is missing.
Documented for both
- Usage definition
- Make Each module action, such as reading a record, writing a spreadsheet row or posting a message, uses one credit; Reading, searching, creating, updating and deleting data, transforming it, aggregating rows and iterating rows all count; One scenario run can use from two to thousands of credits
- Workato Triggers do not count as Tasks, whatever the connector; Each action step counts as 1 Task, in any connector; Control-flow steps (IF, loops, Stop job, error handlers) do not count; steps inside them count each time they run, once per loop iteration; Successful steps count even if the job later fails; Document-processing pages and Event streams events are measured separately, not as Tasks; A bulk or batch action counts as 1 Task however many records it processes; AI by Workato action steps count as more than one Task each, at a rate set in your contract
- Included volume
- Make Unused credits expire at the end of the term; Extra credits expire after one month on monthly subscriptions, or at the end of the year on annual Pro and Teams subscriptionsFree: 1,000 credits per monthCore: 10,000 credits per monthPro: 10,000 credits per monthTeams: 10,000 credits per month
- Workato Usage draws on one purchased balance of Workato credits shared by workflows, document processing and agents.Standard: 1 concurrent job; 30-day log retentionBusiness MCP: 1 concurrent jobEnterprise MCP: 15 concurrent jobs; flexible 90-day log retentionWorkato ONE: 30 concurrent jobs
- Premium integrations
- Make Every plan, including Free, includes the visual builder, routers and filters and 3,500+ apps.Enterprise: Enterprise app integrations
- Workato 1,200+ pre-built connectors included for every user; Unlimited workspaces and usersEnterprise MCP: Data pipelines, Event streams, Intelligent document processing, AI by Workato
- Hosting responsibility
- Make An on-prem agent lets scenarios reach local networks and apps such as SAP.
- Workato Connecting on-premises apps and databases requires an on-premises gateway (agent).Business MCP: 3 on-premises agentsEnterprise MCP: 10 on-premises agentsWorkato ONE: 30 on-premises agents
- AI charges
- Make Make's AI Provider is available on all plans in Make AI Agents and Make AI Toolkit; Credits are charged by input and output tokens and the model chosen; Small and Medium tiers: 18,080 input or 2,260 output tokens per credit; Large tier (GPT-5 mini): 3,616 input or 452 output tokens per credit
- Workato Genies (agents) are measured per prompt sent, by users or by systems; Skills are included when a Genie invokes them and billed as Tasks when invoked over MCP
- Overage charges
- Make When credits run out, scenarios stop until credits are added; Incoming webhooks queue up to the plan webhook queue size; Extra credits come in bundles of 1,000 or 10,000 at a price set in your subscription; Core, Pro and Teams can auto-purchase 10,000 credits before running outEnterprise: Overage protection keeps scenarios running once the credit limit is reached.
- Workato No overage rate is published; Workato offers to help forecast usage and prevent overconsumption.
Limits to check
- Make Active scenarios: 2 on Free, unlimited on paid plans; Minimum interval between scheduled runs: 15 minutes on Free, 1 minute on paid plans; Maximum run time: 5 minutes on Free, 40 minutes on paid plans
- Workato Concurrency: 1 job at a time on Standard and Business MCP, 15 on Enterprise MCP, 30 on Workato ONE
Not verified yet
Every compared requirement has evidence for at least one.
Documented for one product only, shown in the table below: Make: trigger polling.
Not verified means our reviewed sources do not establish it. It does not mean a product lacks the capability or that it costs nothing.
Next steps
- Confirm whether Make's displayed price is billed monthly or annually.
- Request a written quote from Workato for your seats, usage and term.
- Ask Workato about trigger polling; our sources do not establish it yet.
| Requirement | Make | Workato |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | From $9 | Quote only |
| Who it is for | Visual workflows (scenarios) that define how apps communicate and pass data between them. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page: plans, plan table and credits FAQ | Enterprise integration and process automation platform sold by edition, with workflows called recipes. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Workato pricing page rendered: platform editions and FAQ |
| Coverage limits | Active scenarios: 2 on Free, unlimited on paid plans; Minimum interval between scheduled runs: 15 minutes on Free, 1 minute on paid plans; Maximum run time: 5 minutes on Free, 40 minutes on paid plans Plan-table columns are Free, Core, Pro, Teams and Enterprise. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page: plans, plan table and credits FAQ | Concurrency: 1 job at a time on Standard and Business MCP, 15 on Enterprise MCP, 30 on Workato ONE Concurrency is the number of recipe jobs processed at the same time; quantities are totals per edition. The passage starts at the end of the Standard block. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Workato pricing page rendered: platform editions and FAQ |
| Usage definition | Each module action, such as reading a record, writing a spreadsheet row or posting a message, uses one credit; Reading, searching, creating, updating and deleting data, transforming it, aggregating rows and iterating rows all count; One scenario run can use from two to thousands of credits Router and error-handler modules (Rollback, Break, Resume, Commit, Ignore) use no credits. Make Code App steps use 2 credits per second of execution time. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page: plans, plan table and credits FAQ | Triggers do not count as Tasks, whatever the connector; Each action step counts as 1 Task, in any connector; Control-flow steps (IF, loops, Stop job, error handlers) do not count; steps inside them count each time they run, once per loop iteration; Successful steps count even if the job later fails; Document-processing pages and Event streams events are measured separately, not as Tasks; A bulk or batch action counts as 1 Task however many records it processes; AI by Workato action steps count as more than one Task each, at a rate set in your contract Workato example: one action plus two actions in a loop over 5 rows uses 11 Tasks. Some contracts measure Business actions or Workato credits instead of Tasks. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Workato docs: Tasks usage for workflow recipes |
| Included volume | Unused credits expire at the end of the term; Extra credits expire after one month on monthly subscriptions, or at the end of the year on annual Pro and Teams subscriptions With yearly billing, prepaid credits last 12 months instead of expiring each month. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page: plans, plan table and credits FAQ
| Usage draws on one purchased balance of Workato credits shared by workflows, document processing and agents. No credit or Task allowance is published; some plans measure usage differently. Add-ons such as extra concurrency and on-premises agents are billed separately from credit usage. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Workato docs: billing and usage overview
|
| Trigger polling | An operation is any module run, including one that only checks for new data; A polling trigger such as Watch New Rows uses one operation per check, however many records it returns; Each later module runs once per returned record (bundle), so records multiply its operations By default one operation is one credit (Make help on credits). Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make help: operations and bundles
| Not verified |
| Premium integrations | Every plan, including Free, includes the visual builder, routers and filters and 3,500+ apps. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page rendered: plan cards in the default billing view
| 1,200+ pre-built connectors included for every user; Unlimited workspaces and users Extra concurrency and on-premises agents are add-ons billed separately from usage; other listed add-ons include RPA, EDI, Private Link, Workflow Apps and Virtual Private Workato. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Workato pricing page rendered: platform editions and FAQ
|
| Hosting responsibility | An on-prem agent lets scenarios reach local networks and apps such as SAP. The plan that includes it is not clear from the page text. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page: plans, plan table and credits FAQ | Connecting on-premises apps and databases requires an on-premises gateway (agent). Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Workato pricing page rendered: platform editions and FAQ
|
| AI charges | Make's AI Provider is available on all plans in Make AI Agents and Make AI Toolkit; Credits are charged by input and output tokens and the model chosen; Small and Medium tiers: 18,080 input or 2,260 output tokens per credit; Large tier (GPT-5 mini): 3,616 input or 452 output tokens per credit With your own OpenAI or Anthropic connection (paid plans), Make charges credits per operation and the provider bills the tokens. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make help: credits, fixed and AI credit usage | Genies (agents) are measured per prompt sent, by users or by systems; Skills are included when a Genie invokes them and billed as Tasks when invoked over MCP AI by Workato action steps count as more than one Task each, at a contract rate. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Workato docs: understand usage and usage metrics |
| Overage charges | When credits run out, scenarios stop until credits are added; Incoming webhooks queue up to the plan webhook queue size; Extra credits come in bundles of 1,000 or 10,000 at a price set in your subscription; Core, Pro and Teams can auto-purchase 10,000 credits before running out Make notifies at 75% and 90% of purchased credits. The bundle price is not published on the pricing page. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page: plans, plan table and credits FAQ
| No overage rate is published; Workato offers to help forecast usage and prevent overconsumption. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Workato pricing page rendered: platform editions and FAQ |
| Coverage note | At the shown price; credit tiers from 20k to 8M+ cost more. | Concurrency is the number of recipe jobs processed at the same time. Concurrency is the number of recipe jobs processed at the same time. Quantities are totals per edition, not additions. |