Documentation-based comparison
Amazon SES versus Brevo Transactional Email
Compare documented scope and conditions. Unknowns remain unknown; different billing units do not establish a cost winner.
What the evidence answers
A reading of reviewed official documentation for Amazon SES and Brevo Transactional Email. It is not a hands-on test, a ranking or a recommendation of one product.
Price
- Amazon SES From $0.16 per 1,000 emails, first 10 million a month
- Essentials: $0.16 per 1,000 emails, first 10 million a month, no monthly base charge
- Pro: $105.00 monthly
- Enterprise: $500.00 monthly
- À la carte: $0.10 per 1,000 outbound emails, no monthly base charge
- Brevo Transactional Email From $9/mo
- Free: no subscription charge
- Starter: $9.00 monthly
- Standard: $18.00 monthly
- Professional: $499.00 monthly
- Enterprise: Vendor quotation required
Both list prices on the same basis. Compare what each plan includes; the lower amount alone does not make the better choice.
Documented for both
- Sending volume
- Amazon SES Quotas count recipients. In the sandbox: 200 emails per 24 hours and 1 per second; production quotas depend on your use case and can be raised.
- Brevo Transactional Email Plans are priced on emails sent; contact-based pricing applies only to marketing features.Free: 300 emails per dayStarter: 5,000 emails per monthStandard: 5,000 emails per monthProfessional: 150,000 emails per month
- Log retention
- Amazon SES Archiving is a paid add-on: USD 2 per GB ingested plus USD 0.19 per GB a month for storage and search.
- Brevo Transactional Email Flexible log retention is advertised; a numeric retention window is not stated on this page.
- Webhooks and events
- Amazon SES Sending events (sends, deliveries, opens, clicks, bounces, complaints, rejections, rendering failures and delivery delays) can be published to CloudWatch, Data Firehose, Pinpoint, SNS or EventBridge.
- Brevo Transactional Email Event webhooks and real-time tracking are listed.Free: Webhook support included
- Dedicated IP
- Amazon SES Essentials: Managed dedicated IPs are an add-onPro: Managed dedicated IPs included; SES warms them up and scales themEnterprise: Managed dedicated IPs included; SES warms them up and scales themÀ la carte: Standard dedicated IPs cost USD 24.95 per IP a month; managed dedicated IPs cost USD 15 a month per account plus USD 0.08 per 1,000 emails up to 10 million a month.
- Brevo Transactional Email Dedicated IPs with custom warming schedules are offered to high-volume senders; no price is published.Enterprise: Dedicated IPs are part of the custom Enterprise plan
- Support
- Amazon SES Production-access requests get an initial response from AWS Support within 24 hours.
- Brevo Transactional Email Free: Email supportStarter: Email support in 6 languagesProfessional: Phone support plus 3 hours a year with a deliverability specialistEnterprise: Tailored onboarding and CSM support
- Overage charges
- Amazon SES Outbound email is charged per recipient, and tier rates apply marginally: each rate covers only the emails within its tier.
- Brevo Transactional Email Pay-as-you-go email credits are an alternative to a plan: they do not expire and one email uses one credit.
Limits to check
- Amazon SES New accounts start in the sandbox in each AWS Region: verified recipients only, at most 200 messages per 24 hours and 1 per second, until production access is granted.
- Brevo Transactional Email Attachments are limited to 25 MB per email, and one API request can batch up to 1,000 emails.
Not verified yet
Every compared requirement has evidence for at least one.
Documented for one product only, shown in the table below: Amazon SES: sender domains.
Not verified means our reviewed sources do not establish it. It does not mean a product lacks the capability or that it costs nothing.
Next steps
- Ask Brevo Transactional Email about sender domains; our sources do not establish it yet.
| Requirement | Amazon SES | Brevo Transactional Email |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | From $0.16 per 1,000 emails, first 10 million a month | From $9/mo |
| Who it is for | Pay-as-you-go email on AWS, sent through the SES API, the SMTP interface or an AWS SDK. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Amazon SES: official product and plan documentation | Transactional email sent by API or SMTP from your application, inside an all-in-one platform that also runs marketing campaigns. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo Transactional Email: official product and plan documentation |
| Coverage limits | New accounts start in the sandbox in each AWS Region: verified recipients only, at most 200 messages per 24 hours and 1 per second, until production access is granted. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Amazon SES developer guide: moving out of the sandbox | Attachments are limited to 25 MB per email, and one API request can batch up to 1,000 emails. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo Transactional Email: official product and plan documentation |
| Sending volume | Quotas count recipients. In the sandbox: 200 emails per 24 hours and 1 per second; production quotas depend on your use case and can be raised. Quotas apply per AWS Region. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Amazon SES developer guide: service quotas | Plans are priced on emails sent; contact-based pricing applies only to marketing features. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo Transactional Email: official product and plan documentation
|
| Sender domains | 10,000 verified identities per AWS Region An identity is a domain or an email address. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Amazon SES developer guide: service quotas | Not verified |
| Log retention | Archiving is a paid add-on: USD 2 per GB ingested plus USD 0.19 per GB a month for storage and search. Listed as an add-on on Essentials, Pro and Enterprise. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Amazon SES: official product and plan documentation | Flexible log retention is advertised; a numeric retention window is not stated on this page. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo Transactional Email: official product and plan documentation |
| Webhooks and events | Sending events (sends, deliveries, opens, clicks, bounces, complaints, rejections, rendering failures and delivery delays) can be published to CloudWatch, Data Firehose, Pinpoint, SNS or EventBridge. Set up through configuration sets. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Amazon SES developer guide: event publishing | Event webhooks and real-time tracking are listed. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo Transactional Email: official product and plan documentation
|
| Dedicated IP |
| Dedicated IPs with custom warming schedules are offered to high-volume senders; no price is published. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo Transactional Email: official product and plan documentation
|
| Support | Production-access requests get an initial response from AWS Support within 24 hours. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Amazon SES developer guide: moving out of the sandbox |
|
| Overage charges | Outbound email is charged per recipient, and tier rates apply marginally: each rate covers only the emails within its tier. Attachment data is charged on top at USD 0.12 per GB. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Amazon SES: official product and plan documentation | Pay-as-you-go email credits are an alternative to a plan: they do not expire and one email uses one credit. Pay-as-you-go does not include phone support; the credit price is not shown. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo: official pricing page |
| Coverage note | Starting volume. |