Documentation-based comparison
Brevo Transactional Email versus Mailgun
Compare documented scope and conditions. Unknowns remain unknown; different billing units do not establish a cost winner.
What the evidence answers
A reading of reviewed official documentation for Brevo Transactional Email and Mailgun. It is not a hands-on test, a ranking or a recommendation of one product.
Price
- Brevo Transactional Email From $9/mo
- Free: no subscription charge
- Starter: $9.00 monthly
- Standard: $18.00 monthly
- Professional: $499.00 monthly
- Enterprise: Vendor quotation required
- Mailgun From $15/mo
- Free: no subscription charge
- Basic: $15.00 monthly
- Foundation: $35.00 monthly
- Scale: $90.00 monthly
- Enterprise: Vendor quotation required
Both list prices on the same basis. Compare what each plan includes; the lower amount alone does not make the better choice.
Documented for both
- Sending volume
- Brevo Transactional Email Plans are priced on emails sent; contact-based pricing applies only to marketing features.Free: 300 emails per dayStarter: 5,000 emails per monthStandard: 5,000 emails per monthProfessional: 150,000 emails per month
- Mailgun Free: 100 emails per dayBasic: 10,000 emails per monthFoundation: 50,000 emails per monthScale: 100,000 emails per month
- Log retention
- Brevo Transactional Email Flexible log retention is advertised; a numeric retention window is not stated on this page.
- Mailgun Free: 1 day of logsBasic: 1 day of logsFoundation: 5 days of logsScale: 30 days of logs
- Webhooks and events
- Brevo Transactional Email Event webhooks and real-time tracking are listed.Free: Webhook support included
- Mailgun Tracking, analytics and webhooks are listed from the Free plan up.
- Dedicated IP
- Brevo Transactional Email Dedicated IPs with custom warming schedules are offered to high-volume senders; no price is published.Enterprise: Dedicated IPs are part of the custom Enterprise plan
- Mailgun Extra dedicated IPs cost USD 59 per IP a month.Foundation: Available from the 50,000-email tier; one IP included from 100,000 emails a monthScale: One dedicated IP included, plus dedicated IP pools
- Support
- Brevo Transactional Email Free: Email supportStarter: Email support in 6 languagesProfessional: Phone support plus 3 hours a year with a deliverability specialistEnterprise: Tailored onboarding and CSM support
- Mailgun Ticket, chat and phone support depend on the plan.Free: Ticket supportScale: Live phone and chat support
- Overage charges
- Brevo Transactional Email Pay-as-you-go email credits are an alternative to a plan: they do not expire and one email uses one credit.
- Mailgun Extra emails are billed at the start of each month for the previous month, together with the plan fee.
Limits to check
- Brevo Transactional Email Attachments are limited to 25 MB per email, and one API request can batch up to 1,000 emails.
- Mailgun Free and Basic allow 1 custom sending domain and 1 day of logs; Foundation raises this to 1,000 domains and 5 days, and Scale keeps 30 days.
Not verified yet
Every compared requirement has evidence for at least one.
Documented for one product only, shown in the table below: Mailgun: sender domains.
Not verified means our reviewed sources do not establish it. It does not mean a product lacks the capability or that it costs nothing.
Next steps
- Ask Brevo Transactional Email about sender domains; our sources do not establish it yet.
| Requirement | Brevo Transactional Email | Mailgun |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | From $9/mo | From $15/mo |
| Who it is for | Transactional email sent by API or SMTP from your application, inside an all-in-one platform that also runs marketing campaigns. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo Transactional Email: official product and plan documentation | Sends application email through an HTTP API or an SMTP endpoint. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Mailgun: official product and plan documentation |
| Coverage limits | Attachments are limited to 25 MB per email, and one API request can batch up to 1,000 emails. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo Transactional Email: official product and plan documentation | Free and Basic allow 1 custom sending domain and 1 day of logs; Foundation raises this to 1,000 domains and 5 days, and Scale keeps 30 days. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Mailgun: official product and plan documentation |
| Sending volume | Plans are priced on emails sent; contact-based pricing applies only to marketing features. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo Transactional Email: official product and plan documentation
|
|
| Sender domains | Not verified |
|
| Log retention | Flexible log retention is advertised; a numeric retention window is not stated on this page. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo Transactional Email: official product and plan documentation |
|
| Webhooks and events | Event webhooks and real-time tracking are listed. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo Transactional Email: official product and plan documentation
| Tracking, analytics and webhooks are listed from the Free plan up. Basic, Foundation and Scale cards list them too. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Mailgun: official product and plan documentation |
| Dedicated IP | Dedicated IPs with custom warming schedules are offered to high-volume senders; no price is published. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo Transactional Email: official product and plan documentation
| Extra dedicated IPs cost USD 59 per IP a month. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Mailgun: official product and plan documentation
|
| Support |
| Ticket, chat and phone support depend on the plan. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Mailgun: official product and plan documentation
|
| Overage charges | Pay-as-you-go email credits are an alternative to a plan: they do not expire and one email uses one credit. Pay-as-you-go does not include phone support; the credit price is not shown. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Brevo: official pricing page | Extra emails are billed at the start of each month for the previous month, together with the plan fee. The first month is prorated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Mailgun: official product and plan documentation |
| Coverage note | Starting volume. | Starting allowance. |