Documentation-based comparison
Cloudways versus SiteGround
Compare documented scope and conditions. Unknowns remain unknown; different billing units do not establish a cost winner.
What the evidence answers
A reading of reviewed official documentation for Cloudways and SiteGround. It is not a hands-on test, a ranking or a recommendation of one product.
Price
- Cloudways From $14/mo
- Micro: $14.00 monthly
- Small: $28.00 monthly
- Medium: $54.00 monthly
- Large: $99.00 monthly
- SiteGround From $35.88/yr
- StartUp: $35.88 annual ($2.99/mo equivalent)
- GrowBig: $59.88 annual ($4.99/mo equivalent)
- GoGeek: $95.88 annual ($7.99/mo equivalent)
These prices use different billing periods. Read each with its own unit and conditions; they do not add up to one total or a cheaper product.
Documented for both
- Websites
- Cloudways No limit on the number of applications on one server
- SiteGround StartUp: 1 websiteGrowBig: Unlimited websitesGoGeek: Unlimited websites
- Storage
- Cloudways Micro: 25 GB NVMe storage, 1 GB RAM, 1 vCPUSmall: 50 GB NVMe storage, 2 GB RAM, 1 vCPUMedium: 80 GB NVMe storage, 4 GB RAM, 2 vCPULarge: 160 GB NVMe storage, 8 GB RAM, 4 vCPU
- SiteGround StartUp: 10 GB storageGrowBig: 50 GB storageGoGeek: 100 GB storage
- Traffic or visits
- Cloudways Micro: 1 TB transfer bandwidth; unlimited visitsSmall: 2 TB transfer bandwidth; unlimited visitsMedium: 4 TB transfer bandwidth; unlimited visitsLarge: 5 TB transfer bandwidth; unlimited visits
- SiteGround StartUp: Unlimited trafficGrowBig: Unlimited trafficGoGeek: Unlimited traffic
- Introductory rate
- Cloudways 3-day free trial of Flexible without a credit card
- SiteGround StartUp: USD 2.99 a month for the first 12 months, prepaidGrowBig: USD 4.99 a month for the first 12 months, prepaidGoGeek: USD 7.99 a month for the first 12 months, prepaid
- Commitment
- Cloudways Charged by the hour and invoiced in arrears in the first week of each month; plan changes show on the invoice immediately, and AWS and Google Cloud prices vary by region.
- SiteGround 12 months
- Backups
- Cloudways Offsite backup storage costs $0.033/GB per server.
- SiteGround Automatic daily backups, stored in a different location from the siteGrowBig: On-demand backupsGoGeek: On-demand backups
- Restores
- Cloudways One-click restore from automated or on-demand backups
- SiteGround Restore a website from the daily backups "in minutes"
- Migration
- Cloudways Cloudways engineers migrate your first website free from any host.
- SiteGround Existing WordPress sites are transferred automatically at no cost.
- Staging
- Cloudways Staging is listed.
- SiteGround GrowBig: StagingGoGeek: Staging + Git
- Support
- Cloudways 24/7/365 live chat and ticket support on every plan; paid Advanced and Premium support add-ons give quicker responses.
- SiteGround 24/7 human supportGoGeek: Priority support
Limits to check
- Cloudways The number of sites is limited by server capacity: you can launch as many applications as the server can support.
- SiteGround The advertised monthly prices require 12 months prepaid; StartUp renews at USD 17.99 a month after USD 2.99.
Not verified yet
Every compared requirement has evidence for at least one.
Documented for one product only, shown in the table below: Cloudways: overage charges; SiteGround: renewal rate.
Not verified means our reviewed sources do not establish it. It does not mean a product lacks the capability or that it costs nothing.
Next steps
- Ask Cloudways about renewal rate; our sources do not establish it yet.
- Ask SiteGround about overage charges; our sources do not establish it yet.
| Requirement | Cloudways | SiteGround |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | From $14/mo | From $35.88/yr |
| Who it is for | Managed cloud servers for WordPress and other PHP apps, with control over server size and cloud provider. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Cloudways pricing page, rendered Flexible plan cards | Hosting for WordPress websites, powered by AI and supported by human staff. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation |
| Coverage limits | The number of sites is limited by server capacity: you can launch as many applications as the server can support. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Cloudways pricing page, rendered Flexible plan cards | The advertised monthly prices require 12 months prepaid; StartUp renews at USD 17.99 a month after USD 2.99. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation |
| Websites | No limit on the number of applications on one server Every Flexible card lists "Unlimited Websites". Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Cloudways pricing page text with billing FAQ |
|
| Storage |
|
|
| Traffic or visits |
|
|
| Introductory rate | 3-day free trial of Flexible without a credit card Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Cloudways pricing page, rendered Flexible plan cards |
|
| Renewal rate | Not verified |
|
| Commitment | Charged by the hour and invoiced in arrears in the first week of each month; plan changes show on the invoice immediately, and AWS and Google Cloud prices vary by region. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Cloudways pricing page text with billing FAQ | 12 months Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation |
| Backups | Offsite backup storage costs $0.033/GB per server. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Cloudways: official product and plan documentation | Automatic daily backups, stored in a different location from the site Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation
|
| Restores | One-click restore from automated or on-demand backups No separate restore fee is stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Cloudways pricing page, rendered Flexible plan cards | Restore a website from the daily backups "in minutes" The restore method and any fee are not stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation |
| Migration | Cloudways engineers migrate your first website free from any host. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Cloudways pricing page, rendered Flexible plan cards | Existing WordPress sites are transferred automatically at no cost. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation |
| Staging | Staging is listed. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Cloudways: official product and plan documentation |
|
| Support | 24/7/365 live chat and ticket support on every plan; paid Advanced and Premium support add-ons give quicker responses. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Cloudways pricing page text with billing FAQ | 24/7 human support Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation
|
| Overage charges | DigitalOcean: USD 0.02 per extra GB, AWS: USD 0.12 per GB, Google Cloud: USD 0.10 to 0.17 per GB by region Bandwidth beyond the plan allowance is pay-as-you-go. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Cloudways pricing page text with billing FAQ | Not verified |
| Coverage note | Listed under GoGeek "Exclusive Features". Renewal term not stated. |