Documentation-based comparison
DreamHost versus SiteGround
Compare documented scope and conditions. Unknowns remain unknown; different billing units do not establish a cost winner.
What the evidence answers
A reading of reviewed official documentation for DreamHost and SiteGround. It is not a hands-on test, a ranking or a recommendation of one product.
Price
- DreamHost From €11.99/mo
- DreamPress 1: €19.99 monthly
- DreamPress 1: €179.88 annual (€14.99/mo equivalent)
- DreamPress 1: €11.99 monthly
- DreamPress 3: €251.88 annual (€20.99/mo equivalent)
- DreamPress 5: €359.88 annual (€29.99/mo equivalent)
- SiteGround From $35.88/yr
- StartUp: $35.88 annual ($2.99/mo equivalent)
- GrowBig: $59.88 annual ($4.99/mo equivalent)
- GoGeek: $95.88 annual ($7.99/mo equivalent)
These prices use different currencies and different billing periods. Read each with its own unit and conditions; they do not add up to one total or a cheaper product.
Documented for both
- Websites
- DreamHost Business plans support 1–3 sites; Agency plans support 5–20, with more storage and longer backup retention.DreamPress 1: 1 websiteDreamPress 3: 3 websitesDreamPress 5: 5 websites
- SiteGround StartUp: 1 websiteGrowBig: Unlimited websitesGoGeek: Unlimited websites
- Storage
- DreamHost DreamPress 1: 15 GB NVMe SSD storageDreamPress 3: 30 GB NVMe SSD storageDreamPress 5: 50 GB NVMe storage
- SiteGround StartUp: 10 GB storageGrowBig: 50 GB storageGoGeek: 100 GB storage
- Traffic or visits
- DreamHost Visitor allowances are for sizing a plan; DreamHost asks you to contact it if your traffic is unusual.DreamPress 1: 40k monthly visits; unmetered bandwidthDreamPress 3: 125k monthly visitsDreamPress 5: 175k monthly visitors
- SiteGround StartUp: Unlimited trafficGrowBig: Unlimited trafficGoGeek: Unlimited traffic
- Introductory rate
- DreamHost DreamPress 1: Yearly term: EUR 14.99 a month for the first year, EUR 179.88 upfront
- SiteGround StartUp: USD 2.99 a month for the first 12 months, prepaidGrowBig: USD 4.99 a month for the first 12 months, prepaidGoGeek: USD 7.99 a month for the first 12 months, prepaid
- Renewal rate
- DreamHost DreamPress 1: Yearly term: auto-renews at EUR 19.99 a month after 1 year
- SiteGround StartUp: Renews at USD 17.99 a monthGrowBig: Renews at USD 29.99 a monthGoGeek: Renews at USD 44.99 a month
- Commitment
- DreamHost 30-day money-back guarantee on every plan
- SiteGround 12 months
- Backups
- DreamHost Business plans: 14-day daily backup retention, 3 on-demand and 3 locked backups per site; Agency plans: 30-day daily backup retention, 5 on-demand and 5 locked backups per siteDreamPress 1: 14 days backup retentionDreamPress 3: 14 days backup retentionDreamPress 5: 30 days backup retention
- SiteGround Automatic daily backups, stored in a different location from the siteGrowBig: On-demand backupsGoGeek: On-demand backups
- Restores
- DreamHost Backups are stored offsite on Amazon S3; you can download copies and restore a saved version from the panel, which replaces the live site.
- SiteGround Restore a website from the daily backups "in minutes"
- Migration
- DreamHost Professional migrations equal to the number of sites in the plan
- SiteGround Existing WordPress sites are transferred automatically at no cost.
- Staging
- DreamHost 1-click staging for each website; it needs at least 5 GB of free space and is not included in the live-site daily backups.
- SiteGround GrowBig: StagingGoGeek: Staging + Git
- Support
- DreamHost 24/7 WordPress support by chat and panel requests; chat may start with AI, and you can ask for a person.
- SiteGround 24/7 human supportGoGeek: Priority support
Limits to check
- DreamHost Prices are monthly equivalents; annual and multi-year plans are paid upfront, and taxes may apply.
- SiteGround The advertised monthly prices require 12 months prepaid; StartUp renews at USD 17.99 a month after USD 2.99.
Not verified yet
No reviewed evidence for either product on overage charges.
Not verified means our reviewed sources do not establish it. It does not mean a product lacks the capability or that it costs nothing.
Next steps
- Ask DreamHost about overage charges; our sources do not establish it yet.
- Ask SiteGround about overage charges; our sources do not establish it yet.
| Requirement | DreamHost | SiteGround |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | From €11.99/mo | From $35.88/yr |
| Who it is for | Fully managed WordPress hosting (DreamPress) with worldwide Bunny CDN included. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · DreamHost DreamPress plans page, yearly view and plan comparison | Hosting for WordPress websites, powered by AI and supported by human staff. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation |
| Coverage limits | Prices are monthly equivalents; annual and multi-year plans are paid upfront, and taxes may apply. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · DreamHost DreamPress plans page, yearly view and plan comparison | The advertised monthly prices require 12 months prepaid; StartUp renews at USD 17.99 a month after USD 2.99. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation |
| Websites | Business plans support 1–3 sites; Agency plans support 5–20, with more storage and longer backup retention. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · DreamHost DreamPress plans page, yearly view and plan comparison
|
|
| Storage |
|
|
| Traffic or visits | Visitor allowances are for sizing a plan; DreamHost asks you to contact it if your traffic is unusual. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · DreamHost DreamPress plans page, yearly view and plan comparison
|
|
| Introductory rate |
|
|
| Renewal rate |
|
|
| Commitment | 30-day money-back guarantee on every plan Monthly, yearly and 3-year terms are offered. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · DreamHost DreamPress plans page, yearly view and plan comparison | 12 months Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation |
| Backups | Business plans: 14-day daily backup retention, 3 on-demand and 3 locked backups per site; Agency plans: 30-day daily backup retention, 5 on-demand and 5 locked backups per site Verified Oct 11, 2026 · DreamHost DreamPress plans page, yearly view and plan comparison
| Automatic daily backups, stored in a different location from the site Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation
|
| Restores | Backups are stored offsite on Amazon S3; you can download copies and restore a saved version from the panel, which replaces the live site. No restore fee is stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · DreamHost DreamPress plans page, yearly view and plan comparison | Restore a website from the daily backups "in minutes" The restore method and any fee are not stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation |
| Migration | Professional migrations equal to the number of sites in the plan A free migration plugin is offered for doing it yourself. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · DreamHost DreamPress plans page, yearly view and plan comparison | Existing WordPress sites are transferred automatically at no cost. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation |
| Staging | 1-click staging for each website; it needs at least 5 GB of free space and is not included in the live-site daily backups. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · DreamHost DreamPress plans page, yearly view and plan comparison |
|
| Support | 24/7 WordPress support by chat and panel requests; chat may start with AI, and you can ask for a person. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · DreamHost DreamPress plans page, yearly view and plan comparison | 24/7 human support Verified Oct 11, 2026 · SiteGround: official product and plan documentation
|
| Coverage note | Per website. From the plan comparison table. | Listed under GoGeek "Exclusive Features". Renewal term not stated. |
1 requirement without reviewed evidence here
Not verified means the reviewed sources do not establish it; it does not mean a product lacks it or that it costs nothing.
- Overage charges DreamHost: not verified · SiteGround: not verified