Verified Oct 11, 2026 via Microsoft Learn: Power Platform request limits and allocationsWorkflow automation

Power Automate

Cloud flows, attended desktop flows (RPA) and process mining for individual users.

Verified facts
14
Plans
3
Sources
3
Pricing
Documented

Overview

What Power Automate does

Power Automate is Microsoft's automation service: cloud flows between apps, desktop flows (RPA) that a person runs attended, and unattended desktop automation run by bots. The Premium plan covers cloud flows, attended desktop flows and process mining for one user; Process and Hosted Process license bots for unattended work.

How licences and requests are counted

There is no task meter. Each licence has a daily limit of Power Platform requests, and every connector call, HTTP action and built-in action counts, down to initialising a variable, whether it succeeds or fails, including retries and pagination. A Premium user gets 40,000 requests per 24 hours. A Process licence gives one flow its own 250,000 requests per 24 hours; more licences can be stacked on a flow, or one licence shared by up to 25 flows in a flow group.

A cloud flow runs on its owner's licence. If the owner leaves the organisation, the flow falls back to the lowest performance profile, so assign important flows to a stable owner or a Process licence.

What you pay

Premium costs USD 15 per user a month, paid yearly (USD 180 a year per user). Process costs USD 150 per bot a month, paid yearly (USD 1,800 a year per bot), and Hosted Process costs USD 215 per bot a month (USD 2,580 a year) with a Microsoft-managed virtual machine on Azure. One bot runs one unattended desktop flow at a time. Microsoft notes that the checkout shows the actual price for your country and organisation; taxes are not stated.

AI agents are billed separately in Copilot Credits through Copilot Studio, which is sold as prepaid credits, up to 20% cheaper bought up front, with pay-as-you-go cover when they run out. Agent flows are metered there, not against request limits. No credit price is shown on the pricing page.

Limits that change the choice

Scheduled flows can run as often as every 60 seconds. The 30-day trial covers cloud flows with standard connectors, and flows that use a custom connector need a premium or trial licence. Above the request limits Microsoft may throttle, and a flow throttled consistently for 14 days is turned off. Extra capacity comes from a Process licence for the flow or from requests add-ons of 50,000 requests per 24 hours each.

What the documentation leaves open

The pricing page shows only yearly payment, so month-to-month terms are not stated. The prices of the requests add-on and of Copilot Credits are not on the page. The copy reviewed showed "This product is not available in your market" beside each plan, so check availability in your country before planning a purchase.

When to compare alternatives

If your apps are mostly outside Microsoft, compare Zapier, which publishes task tiers and polling intervals and counts only successful actions. For enterprise integration across many systems on a negotiated contract, compare Workato.

Before you buy

Decide which flows run attended under a user and which need unattended bots. Estimate each flow's daily actions, counting built-in actions, failures and retries, against 40,000 requests per Premium user or 250,000 per Process licence. Start with the 30-day trial using standard connectors.

Plans & prices

Prices as listed by Power Automate, before any tax or fee the pricing page does not state.

Scroll the table sideways for every column.

PlanBilled annuallyIncluded volumeHosting responsibility
Premium
$180/yr per user$15/mo equivalent
40,000 Power Platform requests per user per 24 hoursNot stated
Process
$1,800/yr$150/mo equivalent
250,000 Power Platform requests per flow per 24 hours, independent of the users' licences; Up to 10 Process licences can be stacked on one flow, each adding 250,000 requests; Or one licence can be shared by up to 25 solution-aware flows in a flow group, without stackingA bot runs one unattended desktop flow at a time on its assigned machine; concurrent runs need more bots.
Hosted Process
$2,580/yr$215/mo equivalent
Not statedUnattended automation on a Microsoft-managed virtual machine hosted on Azure.
Billing notes (3)
  • Premium: Shown as USD 15.00 per user a month, paid yearly; VendorClue multiplied by 12. Cloud flows, attended desktop flows and process mining. Microsoft says listed prices can differ by currency, country and organisation and the checkout shows the actual price.
  • Process: Priced per bot: shown as USD 150.00 per bot a month, paid yearly; VendorClue multiplied by 12. Cloud flows and unattended desktop flows. Microsoft says listed prices can differ by currency, country and organisation and the checkout shows the actual price.
  • Hosted Process: Priced per bot: shown as USD 215.00 per bot a month, paid yearly; VendorClue multiplied by 12. Adds a Microsoft-managed virtual machine on Azure. Microsoft says listed prices can differ by currency, country and organisation and the checkout shows the actual price.

Microsoft Power Automate pricing page, checked Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Platform request limits and allocations, checked Oct 11, 2026

Documented facts

Each fact comes from official documentation and shows when it was verified.

  • Who it is for

    Cloud flows, attended desktop flows (RPA) and process mining for individual users.

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Power Automate pricing page

  • Coverage limits

    A cloud flow uses its owner's licence; if the owner leaves the organisation, the flow falls back to the Low performance profile.

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Automate limits and configuration

  • Usage definition

    Power Platform requests: every connector call, HTTP action and built-in action (even initialising a variable or a compose step) counts, successful or failed, including retries and pagination.

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Platform request limits and allocations

  • Trigger polling

    Scheduled (recurrence) flows can run as often as every 60 seconds.

    Connector polling intervals are not stated.

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Automate limits and configuration

  • Premium integrations

    The 30-day free trial covers UI-based cloud flows and standard connectors.

    Flows that use a custom connector need a premium or trial licence (Microsoft Learn limits page).

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Power Automate pricing page

  • AI charges

    AI-powered runtime such as agents is outside the request limits and consumes Copilot Credits.

    Agent flows are metered through Microsoft Copilot Studio, not Power Platform requests. Copilot Studio is sold as prepaid Copilot Credit Commit Units, up to 20% cheaper bought up front, with pay-as-you-go coverage when prepaid credits run out; no credit price is shown.

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Platform request limits and allocations

  • Overage charges

    No per-request charge is listed; Microsoft may enforce limits by throttling; Capacity is added to the user or flow that exceeds its limit; Each Power Platform requests add-on raises a limit by 50,000 requests per 24 hours, and several can be assigned

    A cloud flow that is throttled consistently for 14 days is turned off (Microsoft Learn limits page). The add-on price is not on the pricing page.

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Platform request limits and allocations

Sources & methodology

Facts come from the linked documentation. Documentation checks are not hands-on tests, and readable sources can have incomplete coverage.

Retrieved Oct 11, 2026
Retrieved Oct 11, 2026

Discovered an undocumented discrepancy or pricing shift? Submit a correction request.

Submit correction

More Workflow automation tools

Compare documented scope side by side. Different billing units do not establish a cost winner.