Documentation-based comparison
n8n versus Power Automate
Compare documented scope and conditions. Unknowns remain unknown; different billing units do not establish a cost winner.
What the evidence answers
A reading of reviewed official documentation for n8n and Power Automate. It is not a hands-on test, a ranking or a recommendation of one product.
Price
- n8n From €24/mo
- Starter: €24.00 monthly
- Starter: €240.00 annual (€20/mo equivalent)
- Pro: €60.00 monthly
- Pro: €600.00 annual (€50/mo equivalent)
- Business: €800.00 monthly
- Business: €8,004.00 annual (€667/mo equivalent)
- Power Automate From $180/yr per user
- Premium: $180.00 annual per seat ($15/mo equivalent)
- Process: $1,800.00 annual per unknown ($150/mo equivalent)
- Hosted Process: $2,580.00 annual per unknown ($215/mo equivalent)
These prices use different currencies, different billing periods and different billing units. Read each with its own unit and conditions; they do not add up to one total or a cheaper product.
Documented for both
- Usage definition
- n8n One execution is one run of a whole workflow, however many steps it has or how much data it processes.
- Power Automate Power Platform requests: every connector call, HTTP action and built-in action (even initialising a variable or a compose step) counts, successful or failed, including retries and pagination.
- Included volume
- n8n The n8n Cloud free trial includes 1,000 executions, 5 concurrent executions, a 180-second execution timeout and 1 team project.Starter: 2,500 executions per monthPro: 10,000 executions per monthBusiness: 40,000 executions per month
- Power Automate Premium: 40,000 Power Platform requests per user per 24 hoursProcess: 250,000 Power Platform requests per flow per 24 hours, independent of the users' licences; Up to 10 Process licences can be stacked on one flow, each adding 250,000 requests; Or one licence can be shared by up to 25 solution-aware flows in a flow group, without stacking
- Trigger polling
- n8n Each scheduled run is an execution: a daily schedule is 30 or 31 executions a month, and a 5-minute schedule about 8,600 to 8,900.
- Power Automate Scheduled (recurrence) flows can run as often as every 60 seconds.
- Premium integrations
- n8n Every plan includes every integration, unlimited users and unlimited workflows.
- Power Automate The 30-day free trial covers UI-based cloud flows and standard connectors.
- Hosting responsibility
- n8n On n8n Cloud, n8n hosts and maintains the service; self-hosting means you provide and manage the infrastructure and maintenance.Starter: Hosted by n8nPro: Hosted by n8nBusiness: Self-hosted onlyCommunity Edition: Self-hosted; without a licence key n8n runs as the free Community edition, and a Business or Enterprise key enables those editions.
- Power Automate Process: A bot runs one unattended desktop flow at a time on its assigned machine; concurrent runs need more bots.Hosted Process: Unattended automation on a Microsoft-managed virtual machine hosted on Azure.
- AI charges
- n8n Assistant credits for AI-assisted building: 1,600 a month on Starter, 4,000 or 9,600 on Pro, none on Enterprise; Free trials include 800 Assistant credits; Credits refresh monthly, do not roll over, and extra credits can be bought; On self-hosted n8n you bring your own AI key and no credit limit applies
- Power Automate AI-powered runtime such as agents is outside the request limits and consumes Copilot Credits.
- Overage charges
- n8n Business: Workflows keep running over quota; overage is EUR 4,000 per extra 300,000 executions, invoiced 45 days later if you do not upgrade.
- Power Automate No per-request charge is listed; Microsoft may enforce limits by throttling; Capacity is added to the user or flow that exceeds its limit; Each Power Platform requests add-on raises a limit by 50,000 requests per 24 hours, and several can be assigned
Limits to check
- n8n The Business plan is available only for self-hosted n8n, not on n8n Cloud.
- Power Automate A cloud flow uses its owner's licence; if the owner leaves the organisation, the flow falls back to the Low performance profile.
Not verified yet
Every compared requirement has evidence for at least one.
Not verified means our reviewed sources do not establish it. It does not mean a product lacks the capability or that it costs nothing.
Next steps
| Requirement | n8n | Power Automate |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | From €24/mo | From $180/yr per user |
| Who it is for | Workflow automation priced by monthly workflow executions, regardless of complexity. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ | Cloud flows, attended desktop flows (RPA) and process mining for individual users. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Power Automate pricing page |
| Coverage limits | The Business plan is available only for self-hosted n8n, not on n8n Cloud. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ | A cloud flow uses its owner's licence; if the owner leaves the organisation, the flow falls back to the Low performance profile. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Automate limits and configuration |
| Usage definition | One execution is one run of a whole workflow, however many steps it has or how much data it processes. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ | Power Platform requests: every connector call, HTTP action and built-in action (even initialising a variable or a compose step) counts, successful or failed, including retries and pagination. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Platform request limits and allocations |
| Included volume | The n8n Cloud free trial includes 1,000 executions, 5 concurrent executions, a 180-second execution timeout and 1 team project. No credit card is required for the Cloud trial. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ
|
|
| Trigger polling | Each scheduled run is an execution: a daily schedule is 30 or 31 executions a month, and a 5-minute schedule about 8,600 to 8,900. No minimum schedule interval is stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ | Scheduled (recurrence) flows can run as often as every 60 seconds. Connector polling intervals are not stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Automate limits and configuration |
| Premium integrations | Every plan includes every integration, unlimited users and unlimited workflows. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ | The 30-day free trial covers UI-based cloud flows and standard connectors. Flows that use a custom connector need a premium or trial licence (Microsoft Learn limits page). Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Power Automate pricing page |
| Hosting responsibility | On n8n Cloud, n8n hosts and maintains the service; self-hosting means you provide and manage the infrastructure and maintenance. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n docs: choose n8n Cloud or self-hosted
|
|
| AI charges | Assistant credits for AI-assisted building: 1,600 a month on Starter, 4,000 or 9,600 on Pro, none on Enterprise; Free trials include 800 Assistant credits; Credits refresh monthly, do not roll over, and extra credits can be bought; On self-hosted n8n you bring your own AI key and no credit limit applies Assistant is in preview. The price of extra credits is not stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ | AI-powered runtime such as agents is outside the request limits and consumes Copilot Credits. Agent flows are metered through Microsoft Copilot Studio, not Power Platform requests. Copilot Studio is sold as prepaid Copilot Credit Commit Units, up to 20% cheaper bought up front, with pay-as-you-go coverage when prepaid credits run out; no credit price is shown. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Platform request limits and allocations |
| Overage charges |
| No per-request charge is listed; Microsoft may enforce limits by throttling; Capacity is added to the user or flow that exceeds its limit; Each Power Platform requests add-on raises a limit by 50,000 requests per 24 hours, and several can be assigned A cloud flow that is throttled consistently for 14 days is turned off (Microsoft Learn limits page). The add-on price is not on the pricing page. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Platform request limits and allocations |
| Coverage note | n8n Cloud stores data in the EU, on servers in Frankfurt, Germany. |