Documentation-based comparison
Pipedream versus Power Automate
Compare documented scope and conditions. Unknowns remain unknown; different billing units do not establish a cost winner.
What the evidence answers
A reading of reviewed official documentation for Pipedream and Power Automate. It is not a hands-on test, a ranking or a recommendation of one product.
Price
- Pipedream From $150/mo
- Free: no subscription charge
- Startup: $150.00 monthly
- Startup: $1,188.00 annual ($99/mo equivalent)
- Business: Vendor quotation required
- Power Automate From $180/yr per user
- Premium: $180.00 annual per seat ($15/mo equivalent)
- Process: $1,800.00 annual per unknown ($150/mo equivalent)
- Hosted Process: $2,580.00 annual per unknown ($215/mo equivalent)
These prices use different billing periods and different billing units. Read each with its own unit and conditions; they do not add up to one total or a cheaper product.
Documented for both
- Usage definition
- Pipedream External user: each distinct user of your app who connects at least one account; one user with five connected apps counts once; Usage credit: 30 seconds of compute for an action run, an MCP tool call, a Connect proxy request or an event emitted by a deployed trigger; Listing apps and accounts, configuring components and other management calls use no credits
- Power Automate Power Platform requests: every connector call, HTTP action and built-in action (even initialising a variable or a compose step) counts, successful or failed, including retries and pagination.
- Included volume
- Pipedream Development is free; serving real external users in production requires Startup.Free: Development only; a daily credit limit that cannot be exceeded and a limited number of connected accounts.Startup: 10,000 usage credits per month
- Power Automate Premium: 40,000 Power Platform requests per user per 24 hoursProcess: 250,000 Power Platform requests per flow per 24 hours, independent of the users' licences; Up to 10 Process licences can be stacked on one flow, each adding 250,000 requests; Or one licence can be shared by up to 25 solution-aware flows in a flow group, without stacking
- Trigger polling
- Pipedream An event source from the public registry, including a polling source, runs free when it triggers a workflow, on every plan; A private custom source is charged for all compute time, including the first 30 seconds
- Power Automate Scheduled (recurrence) flows can run as often as every 60 seconds.
- Premium integrations
- Pipedream Managed auth for 3,000+ APIs, 10,000+ prebuilt tools and triggers, and MCP servers on every plan.Business: Volume pricing for users and usage; SSO, SCIM and HIPAA; Dedicated static egress IPs; SLAs and dedicated Slack support
- Power Automate The 30-day free trial covers UI-based cloud flows and standard connectors.
- AI charges
- Pipedream AI agent tool calls through MCP use 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute, like any action.
- Power Automate AI-powered runtime such as agents is outside the request limits and consumes Copilot Credits.
- Overage charges
- Pipedream Credits above the included amount are added to the next billing period's invoice.Startup: USD 0.012 per credit beyond 10,000 a month, lower at higher volume; USD 2 a month per external user beyond 100
- Power Automate No per-request charge is listed; Microsoft may enforce limits by throttling; Capacity is added to the user or flow that exceeds its limit; Each Power Platform requests add-on raises a limit by 50,000 requests per 24 hours, and several can be assigned
Limits to check
- Pipedream Pipedream Workflows and String shut down on March 31, 2027; Workflows are in maintenance mode: existing workflows run until then, with no new features; New Workflows sign-ups and subscriptions are no longer accepted; Pipedream Connect is not affected
- Power Automate A cloud flow uses its owner's licence; if the owner leaves the organisation, the flow falls back to the Low performance profile.
Not verified yet
Every compared requirement has evidence for at least one.
Documented for one product only, shown in the table below: Power Automate: hosting responsibility.
Not verified means our reviewed sources do not establish it. It does not mean a product lacks the capability or that it costs nothing.
Next steps
- Ask Pipedream about hosting responsibility; our sources do not establish it yet.
| Requirement | Pipedream | Power Automate |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | From $150/mo | From $180/yr per user |
| Who it is for | Pipedream Connect: SDKs and APIs that add 3,000+ integrations to your own app or AI agent. The standalone Workflows product is closing; see coverage limits. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: plans, Connect credits and Workflows credits | Cloud flows, attended desktop flows (RPA) and process mining for individual users. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Power Automate pricing page |
| Coverage limits | Pipedream Workflows and String shut down on March 31, 2027; Workflows are in maintenance mode: existing workflows run until then, with no new features; New Workflows sign-ups and subscriptions are no longer accepted; Pipedream Connect is not affected All Workflows data, including credentials and OAuth tokens, is deleted by April 30, 2027. An export tool downloads workflow structure as JSON, one project at a time. Subscriptions are cancelled on March 31, 2027 with a prorated refund. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: Workflows and String shutdown notice | A cloud flow uses its owner's licence; if the owner leaves the organisation, the flow falls back to the Low performance profile. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Automate limits and configuration |
| Usage definition | External user: each distinct user of your app who connects at least one account; one user with five connected apps counts once; Usage credit: 30 seconds of compute for an action run, an MCP tool call, a Connect proxy request or an event emitted by a deployed trigger; Listing apps and accounts, configuring components and other management calls use no credits Workflows, until the shutdown, use one credit per 30 seconds of compute per workflow segment at 256 MB; step count does not matter, and doubling memory doubles credits. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ | Power Platform requests: every connector call, HTTP action and built-in action (even initialising a variable or a compose step) counts, successful or failed, including retries and pagination. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Platform request limits and allocations |
| Included volume | Development is free; serving real external users in production requires Startup. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ
|
|
| Trigger polling | An event source from the public registry, including a polling source, runs free when it triggers a workflow, on every plan; A private custom source is charged for all compute time, including the first 30 seconds The polling interval is not stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: plans, Connect credits and Workflows credits | Scheduled (recurrence) flows can run as often as every 60 seconds. Connector polling intervals are not stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Automate limits and configuration |
| Premium integrations | Managed auth for 3,000+ APIs, 10,000+ prebuilt tools and triggers, and MCP servers on every plan. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ
| The 30-day free trial covers UI-based cloud flows and standard connectors. Flows that use a custom connector need a premium or trial licence (Microsoft Learn limits page). Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Power Automate pricing page |
| Hosting responsibility | Not verified |
|
| AI charges | AI agent tool calls through MCP use 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute, like any action. No separate AI model charge is listed. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ | AI-powered runtime such as agents is outside the request limits and consumes Copilot Credits. Agent flows are metered through Microsoft Copilot Studio, not Power Platform requests. Copilot Studio is sold as prepaid Copilot Credit Commit Units, up to 20% cheaper bought up front, with pay-as-you-go coverage when prepaid credits run out; no credit price is shown. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Platform request limits and allocations |
| Overage charges | Credits above the included amount are added to the next billing period's invoice. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: plans, Connect credits and Workflows credits
| No per-request charge is listed; Microsoft may enforce limits by throttling; Capacity is added to the user or flow that exceeds its limit; Each Power Platform requests add-on raises a limit by 50,000 requests per 24 hours, and several can be assigned A cloud flow that is throttled consistently for 14 days is turned off (Microsoft Learn limits page). The add-on price is not on the pricing page. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Microsoft Learn: Power Platform request limits and allocations |