Verified Oct 11, 2026 via Tray.ai docs: usage and billing, what a task isWorkflow automation

Tray.ai

One governed platform (Tray iPaaS) for integration, automation, MCP services and AI agents, sold by quote.

Verified facts
14
Plans
3
Sources
2
Pricing
Quote only

Overview

What Tray.ai does

Tray.ai sells Tray iPaaS, one platform for integration, process automation, data integration, API management, MCP services and AI agents. There are three plans, Pro, Team and Enterprise, all priced by quote on usage and features, and all include 700+ connectors and connector development. It suits a company with a central team that builds and governs integrations.

How tasks are counted

Tray meters tasks, and a task is roughly one workflow step each time it runs. Unlike a Workato Task or a Zapier task, the trigger counts, and so do logic steps such as loops and booleans. A loop repeats its steps for every item, so Tray's own example, a five-connector workflow whose webhook delivers 2 records, uses 9 tasks in one run. A connector that makes several API calls in one step still counts once, and retries are not charged.

AI connectors such as Merlin Text Generation turn input and output tokens into tasks at a token-to-task ratio set in your contract and available from support. Document processing counts each page.

What you pay

No prices are published. Tray prices each plan on expected usage and the features you need, and arranges a free trial through sales. Agent Development (Agent Gateway for MCP and Merlin Agent Builder) is an add-on, and HIPAA, SSO, regional hosting and longer log retention are also listed as add-ons. Taxes are not stated.

Limits that change the choice

Pro allows 3 workspaces with 7-day insights and log retention, Team 20 workspaces with 30-day insights, and Enterprise unlimited workspaces with 180-day insights, regional hosting, log streaming and on-premise connectivity. Team and Enterprise include 24/7/365 support. Admins can cap monthly tasks per workspace, for example so a sandbox does not drive up the bill, and alerts go out at 80% and 100% of the task entitlement.

What the documentation leaves open

Task entitlements, the token-to-task ratio and what happens above 100% of the entitlement are not published. Regional hosting appears both as an Enterprise feature and as an add-on. Trigger polling intervals are not covered on the pages reviewed.

When to compare alternatives

Workato is also sold by quote but does not count triggers or control-flow steps as Tasks, which lowers the count for loop-heavy recipes. n8n publishes prices and counts a whole workflow run as one execution, which is easier to budget if you can work without a quote.

Before you buy

Ask Tray to price a sample workflow: give the trigger, the number of steps, typical loop sizes and runs per month, then check the task total against the entitlement in the quote. Ask for the token-to-task ratio and the terms above 100% of the entitlement before using AI connectors at scale.

Plans & prices

Tray.ai does not publish plan prices. The plan terms below come from its official pages.

Scroll the table sideways for every column.

PlanPriceIncluded volumeHosting responsibility
ProQuote3 workspaces; 7-day insights and 7-day log retentionNot stated
TeamQuote20 workspaces; 30-day insights; 7-day log retention that can be extendedNot stated
EnterpriseQuoteUnlimited workspaces; 180-day insightsRegional hosting, Advanced on-premise connectivity, SSO and HIPAA
Billing notes (3)
  • Pro: Quote based on usage and features. 3 workspaces, 7-day insights and log retention. A free trial is arranged through sales.
  • Team: Quote based on usage and features. 20 workspaces, 30-day insights, 24/7/365 support (Tray Advantage Plus); all add-ons available.
  • Enterprise: Quote based on usage and features. Unlimited workspaces, 180-day insights, SSO, HIPAA, regional hosting, log streaming, on-premise connectivity, 24/7/365 support.

Tray.ai iPaaS pricing page: plans, add-ons and FAQ, checked Oct 11, 2026

Documented facts

Each fact comes from official documentation and shows when it was verified.

  • Who it is for

    One governed platform (Tray iPaaS) for integration, automation, MCP services and AI agents, sold by quote.

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Tray.ai iPaaS pricing page: plans, add-ons and FAQ

  • Coverage limits

    Pro allows 3 workspaces, Team 20 and Enterprise unlimited; regional hosting, log streaming and on-premise connectivity are Enterprise features.

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Tray.ai iPaaS pricing page: plans, add-ons and FAQ

  • Usage definition

    Every step that runs is a task, including the webhook trigger; Loop and boolean steps count each time they run, once per list item, plus the loop's final check; Example: a webhook delivering 2 records through Clearbit, a loop, a boolean and Slack used 9 tasks in one run

    Tray describes a task as roughly one workflow step each time it runs; a connector that makes several API calls in one step counts once. Retries are not charged. Each Connectivity API Call Connector request is 1 task.

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Tray.ai docs: usage and billing, what a task is

  • Included volume

    Task volume is a contracted entitlement, shown as an allowance line in the usage dashboard.

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Tray.ai docs: usage and billing, what a task is

  • Premium integrations

    700+ connectors and connector development are included in all plans.

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Tray.ai iPaaS pricing page: plans, add-ons and FAQ

  • AI charges

    AI connectors convert input and output tokens into tasks at a token-to-task ratio set in your contract, available from support.

    Merlin Text Generation, Merlin Text Analysis and AI-Agent-Utils generate token usage; document processing (Merlin IDP) counts pages. Agent Development (Agent Gateway for MCP and Merlin Agent Builder) is an add-on.

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Tray.ai docs: usage and billing, what a task is

  • Overage charges

    Admins can cap monthly tasks per workspace, for example for sandbox or development workspaces; Retries are not charged

    Usage alerts go out at 80% and 100% of the task entitlement, which includes AI token tasks. No overage rate is published.

    Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Tray.ai docs: usage and billing, what a task is

Not confirmed in our sources

The official pages we reviewed do not state these terms for Tray.ai. That does not mean Tray.ai lacks them; confirm them before you rely on them.

  • Trigger polling

Sources & methodology

Facts come from the linked documentation. Documentation checks are not hands-on tests, and readable sources can have incomplete coverage.

Discovered an undocumented discrepancy or pricing shift? Submit a correction request.

Submit correction

More Workflow automation tools

Compare documented scope side by side. Different billing units do not establish a cost winner.