Documentation-based comparison
IFTTT versus Pipedream
Compare documented scope and conditions. Unknowns remain unknown; different billing units do not establish a cost winner.
What the evidence answers
A reading of reviewed official documentation for IFTTT and Pipedream. It is not a hands-on test, a ranking or a recommendation of one product.
Price
- IFTTT From $35.88/yr
- Free: no subscription charge
- Pro: $35.88 annual ($2.99/mo equivalent)
- Pro+: $107.88 annual ($8.99/mo equivalent)
- Pipedream From $150/mo
- Free: no subscription charge
- Startup: $150.00 monthly
- Startup: $1,188.00 annual ($99/mo equivalent)
- Business: Vendor quotation required
Both list prices on the same basis. Compare what each plan includes; the lower amount alone does not make the better choice.
Documented for both
- Usage definition
- IFTTT Plans are sized by the number of Applets you can have, not by runs; Applet runs are listed as unlimited.
- Pipedream External user: each distinct user of your app who connects at least one account; one user with five connected apps counts once; Usage credit: 30 seconds of compute for an action run, an MCP tool call, a Connect proxy request or an event emitted by a deployed trigger; Listing apps and accounts, configuring components and other management calls use no credits
- Included volume
- IFTTT Free: 2 AppletsPro: 20 AppletsPro+: Unlimited Applets
- Pipedream Development is free; serving real external users in production requires Startup.Free: Development only; a daily credit limit that cannot be exceeded and a limited number of connected accounts.Startup: 10,000 usage credits per month
- Trigger polling
- IFTTT Free: Standard Applet speedsPro: Fastest Applet speedsPro+: Fastest Applet speeds
- Pipedream An event source from the public registry, including a polling source, runs free when it triggers a workflow, on every plan; A private custom source is charged for all compute time, including the first 30 seconds
- Premium integrations
- IFTTT Pro: Multi-action Applets, Webhooks, Exclusive triggers and actions, Increased rate limitsPro+: Queries and filter code, Multiple accounts per service, AI services, Prioritized support
- Pipedream Managed auth for 3,000+ APIs, 10,000+ prebuilt tools and triggers, and MCP servers on every plan.Business: Volume pricing for users and usage; SSO, SCIM and HIPAA; Dedicated static egress IPs; SLAs and dedicated Slack support
- AI charges
- IFTTT Pro+: AI services are listed only on Pro+.
- Pipedream AI agent tool calls through MCP use 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute, like any action.
Limits to check
- IFTTT 2 Applets on the free plan, at standard speed; 20 Applets on Pro; Unlimited Applets on Pro+
- Pipedream Pipedream Workflows and String shut down on March 31, 2027; Workflows are in maintenance mode: existing workflows run until then, with no new features; New Workflows sign-ups and subscriptions are no longer accepted; Pipedream Connect is not affected
Not verified yet
No reviewed evidence for either product on hosting responsibility.
Documented for one product only, shown in the table below: Pipedream: overage charges.
Not verified means our reviewed sources do not establish it. It does not mean a product lacks the capability or that it costs nothing.
Next steps
- Ask IFTTT about hosting responsibility and overage charges; our sources do not establish them yet.
- Ask Pipedream about hosting responsibility; our sources do not establish it yet.
| Requirement | IFTTT | Pipedream |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | From $35.88/yr | From $150/mo |
| Who it is for | Applets that connect two or more apps or devices. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · IFTTT plans and pricing page | Pipedream Connect: SDKs and APIs that add 3,000+ integrations to your own app or AI agent. The standalone Workflows product is closing; see coverage limits. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: plans, Connect credits and Workflows credits |
| Coverage limits | 2 Applets on the free plan, at standard speed; 20 Applets on Pro; Unlimited Applets on Pro+ Applet runs are listed as unlimited. The cards are not named in the page text; the third card says "Everything in Pro", and the page says "With Pro+ you have unlimited Applets". Verified Oct 11, 2026 · IFTTT plans and pricing page | Pipedream Workflows and String shut down on March 31, 2027; Workflows are in maintenance mode: existing workflows run until then, with no new features; New Workflows sign-ups and subscriptions are no longer accepted; Pipedream Connect is not affected All Workflows data, including credentials and OAuth tokens, is deleted by April 30, 2027. An export tool downloads workflow structure as JSON, one project at a time. Subscriptions are cancelled on March 31, 2027 with a prorated refund. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: Workflows and String shutdown notice |
| Usage definition | Plans are sized by the number of Applets you can have, not by runs; Applet runs are listed as unlimited. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · IFTTT plans and pricing page | External user: each distinct user of your app who connects at least one account; one user with five connected apps counts once; Usage credit: 30 seconds of compute for an action run, an MCP tool call, a Connect proxy request or an event emitted by a deployed trigger; Listing apps and accounts, configuring components and other management calls use no credits Workflows, until the shutdown, use one credit per 30 seconds of compute per workflow segment at 256 MB; step count does not matter, and doubling memory doubles credits. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ |
| Included volume |
| Development is free; serving real external users in production requires Startup. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ
|
| Trigger polling |
| An event source from the public registry, including a polling source, runs free when it triggers a workflow, on every plan; A private custom source is charged for all compute time, including the first 30 seconds The polling interval is not stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: plans, Connect credits and Workflows credits |
| Premium integrations |
| Managed auth for 3,000+ APIs, 10,000+ prebuilt tools and triggers, and MCP servers on every plan. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ
|
| AI charges |
| AI agent tool calls through MCP use 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute, like any action. No separate AI model charge is listed. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ |
| Overage charges | Not verified | Credits above the included amount are added to the next billing period's invoice. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: plans, Connect credits and Workflows credits
|
| Coverage note | Not stated in minutes. |
1 requirement without reviewed evidence here
Not verified means the reviewed sources do not establish it; it does not mean a product lacks it or that it costs nothing.
- Hosting responsibility IFTTT: not verified · Pipedream: not verified