Documentation-based comparison
Make versus Pipedream
Compare documented scope and conditions. Unknowns remain unknown; different billing units do not establish a cost winner.
What the evidence answers
A reading of reviewed official documentation for Make and Pipedream. It is not a hands-on test, a ranking or a recommendation of one product.
Price
- Make From $9
- Free: no subscription charge
- Core: $9.00 billing period not stated
- Pro: $16.00 billing period not stated
- Teams: $29.00 billing period not stated
- Enterprise: Vendor quotation required
- Pipedream From $150/mo
- Free: no subscription charge
- Startup: $150.00 monthly
- Startup: $1,188.00 annual ($99/mo equivalent)
- Business: Vendor quotation required
A complete like-for-like price comparison is not established; the next checks say what is missing.
Documented for both
- Usage definition
- Make Each module action, such as reading a record, writing a spreadsheet row or posting a message, uses one credit; Reading, searching, creating, updating and deleting data, transforming it, aggregating rows and iterating rows all count; One scenario run can use from two to thousands of credits
- Pipedream External user: each distinct user of your app who connects at least one account; one user with five connected apps counts once; Usage credit: 30 seconds of compute for an action run, an MCP tool call, a Connect proxy request or an event emitted by a deployed trigger; Listing apps and accounts, configuring components and other management calls use no credits
- Included volume
- Make Unused credits expire at the end of the term; Extra credits expire after one month on monthly subscriptions, or at the end of the year on annual Pro and Teams subscriptionsFree: 1,000 credits per monthCore: 10,000 credits per monthPro: 10,000 credits per monthTeams: 10,000 credits per month
- Pipedream Development is free; serving real external users in production requires Startup.Free: Development only; a daily credit limit that cannot be exceeded and a limited number of connected accounts.Startup: 10,000 usage credits per month
- Trigger polling
- Make An operation is any module run, including one that only checks for new data; A polling trigger such as Watch New Rows uses one operation per check, however many records it returns; Each later module runs once per returned record (bundle), so records multiply its operationsFree: 15-minute minimum interval between scheduled runsCore: Scheduled scenarios down to the minute
- Pipedream An event source from the public registry, including a polling source, runs free when it triggers a workflow, on every plan; A private custom source is charged for all compute time, including the first 30 seconds
- Premium integrations
- Make Every plan, including Free, includes the visual builder, routers and filters and 3,500+ apps.Enterprise: Enterprise app integrations
- Pipedream Managed auth for 3,000+ APIs, 10,000+ prebuilt tools and triggers, and MCP servers on every plan.Business: Volume pricing for users and usage; SSO, SCIM and HIPAA; Dedicated static egress IPs; SLAs and dedicated Slack support
- AI charges
- Make Make's AI Provider is available on all plans in Make AI Agents and Make AI Toolkit; Credits are charged by input and output tokens and the model chosen; Small and Medium tiers: 18,080 input or 2,260 output tokens per credit; Large tier (GPT-5 mini): 3,616 input or 452 output tokens per credit
- Pipedream AI agent tool calls through MCP use 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute, like any action.
- Overage charges
- Make When credits run out, scenarios stop until credits are added; Incoming webhooks queue up to the plan webhook queue size; Extra credits come in bundles of 1,000 or 10,000 at a price set in your subscription; Core, Pro and Teams can auto-purchase 10,000 credits before running outEnterprise: Overage protection keeps scenarios running once the credit limit is reached.
- Pipedream Credits above the included amount are added to the next billing period's invoice.Startup: USD 0.012 per credit beyond 10,000 a month, lower at higher volume; USD 2 a month per external user beyond 100
Limits to check
- Make Active scenarios: 2 on Free, unlimited on paid plans; Minimum interval between scheduled runs: 15 minutes on Free, 1 minute on paid plans; Maximum run time: 5 minutes on Free, 40 minutes on paid plans
- Pipedream Pipedream Workflows and String shut down on March 31, 2027; Workflows are in maintenance mode: existing workflows run until then, with no new features; New Workflows sign-ups and subscriptions are no longer accepted; Pipedream Connect is not affected
Not verified yet
Every compared requirement has evidence for at least one.
Documented for one product only, shown in the table below: Make: hosting responsibility.
Not verified means our reviewed sources do not establish it. It does not mean a product lacks the capability or that it costs nothing.
Next steps
- Confirm whether Make's displayed price is billed monthly or annually.
- Ask Pipedream about hosting responsibility; our sources do not establish it yet.
| Requirement | Make | Pipedream |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | From $9 | From $150/mo |
| Who it is for | Visual workflows (scenarios) that define how apps communicate and pass data between them. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page: plans, plan table and credits FAQ | Pipedream Connect: SDKs and APIs that add 3,000+ integrations to your own app or AI agent. The standalone Workflows product is closing; see coverage limits. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: plans, Connect credits and Workflows credits |
| Coverage limits | Active scenarios: 2 on Free, unlimited on paid plans; Minimum interval between scheduled runs: 15 minutes on Free, 1 minute on paid plans; Maximum run time: 5 minutes on Free, 40 minutes on paid plans Plan-table columns are Free, Core, Pro, Teams and Enterprise. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page: plans, plan table and credits FAQ | Pipedream Workflows and String shut down on March 31, 2027; Workflows are in maintenance mode: existing workflows run until then, with no new features; New Workflows sign-ups and subscriptions are no longer accepted; Pipedream Connect is not affected All Workflows data, including credentials and OAuth tokens, is deleted by April 30, 2027. An export tool downloads workflow structure as JSON, one project at a time. Subscriptions are cancelled on March 31, 2027 with a prorated refund. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: Workflows and String shutdown notice |
| Usage definition | Each module action, such as reading a record, writing a spreadsheet row or posting a message, uses one credit; Reading, searching, creating, updating and deleting data, transforming it, aggregating rows and iterating rows all count; One scenario run can use from two to thousands of credits Router and error-handler modules (Rollback, Break, Resume, Commit, Ignore) use no credits. Make Code App steps use 2 credits per second of execution time. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page: plans, plan table and credits FAQ | External user: each distinct user of your app who connects at least one account; one user with five connected apps counts once; Usage credit: 30 seconds of compute for an action run, an MCP tool call, a Connect proxy request or an event emitted by a deployed trigger; Listing apps and accounts, configuring components and other management calls use no credits Workflows, until the shutdown, use one credit per 30 seconds of compute per workflow segment at 256 MB; step count does not matter, and doubling memory doubles credits. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ |
| Included volume | Unused credits expire at the end of the term; Extra credits expire after one month on monthly subscriptions, or at the end of the year on annual Pro and Teams subscriptions With yearly billing, prepaid credits last 12 months instead of expiring each month. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page: plans, plan table and credits FAQ
| Development is free; serving real external users in production requires Startup. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ
|
| Trigger polling | An operation is any module run, including one that only checks for new data; A polling trigger such as Watch New Rows uses one operation per check, however many records it returns; Each later module runs once per returned record (bundle), so records multiply its operations By default one operation is one credit (Make help on credits). Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make help: operations and bundles
| An event source from the public registry, including a polling source, runs free when it triggers a workflow, on every plan; A private custom source is charged for all compute time, including the first 30 seconds The polling interval is not stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: plans, Connect credits and Workflows credits |
| Premium integrations | Every plan, including Free, includes the visual builder, routers and filters and 3,500+ apps. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page rendered: plan cards in the default billing view
| Managed auth for 3,000+ APIs, 10,000+ prebuilt tools and triggers, and MCP servers on every plan. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ
|
| Hosting responsibility | An on-prem agent lets scenarios reach local networks and apps such as SAP. The plan that includes it is not clear from the page text. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page: plans, plan table and credits FAQ | Not verified |
| AI charges | Make's AI Provider is available on all plans in Make AI Agents and Make AI Toolkit; Credits are charged by input and output tokens and the model chosen; Small and Medium tiers: 18,080 input or 2,260 output tokens per credit; Large tier (GPT-5 mini): 3,616 input or 452 output tokens per credit With your own OpenAI or Anthropic connection (paid plans), Make charges credits per operation and the provider bills the tokens. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make help: credits, fixed and AI credit usage | AI agent tool calls through MCP use 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute, like any action. No separate AI model charge is listed. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ |
| Overage charges | When credits run out, scenarios stop until credits are added; Incoming webhooks queue up to the plan webhook queue size; Extra credits come in bundles of 1,000 or 10,000 at a price set in your subscription; Core, Pro and Teams can auto-purchase 10,000 credits before running out Make notifies at 75% and 90% of purchased credits. The bundle price is not published on the pricing page. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Make pricing page: plans, plan table and credits FAQ
| Credits above the included amount are added to the next billing period's invoice. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: plans, Connect credits and Workflows credits
|
| Coverage note | At the shown price; credit tiers from 20k to 8M+ cost more. |