Documentation-based comparison
n8n versus Pipedream
Compare documented scope and conditions. Unknowns remain unknown; different billing units do not establish a cost winner.
What the evidence answers
A reading of reviewed official documentation for n8n and Pipedream. It is not a hands-on test, a ranking or a recommendation of one product.
Price
- n8n From €24/mo
- Starter: €24.00 monthly
- Starter: €240.00 annual (€20/mo equivalent)
- Pro: €60.00 monthly
- Pro: €600.00 annual (€50/mo equivalent)
- Business: €800.00 monthly
- Business: €8,004.00 annual (€667/mo equivalent)
- Pipedream From $150/mo
- Free: no subscription charge
- Startup: $150.00 monthly
- Startup: $1,188.00 annual ($99/mo equivalent)
- Business: Vendor quotation required
These prices use different currencies. Read each with its own unit and conditions; they do not add up to one total or a cheaper product.
Documented for both
- Usage definition
- n8n One execution is one run of a whole workflow, however many steps it has or how much data it processes.
- Pipedream External user: each distinct user of your app who connects at least one account; one user with five connected apps counts once; Usage credit: 30 seconds of compute for an action run, an MCP tool call, a Connect proxy request or an event emitted by a deployed trigger; Listing apps and accounts, configuring components and other management calls use no credits
- Included volume
- n8n The n8n Cloud free trial includes 1,000 executions, 5 concurrent executions, a 180-second execution timeout and 1 team project.Starter: 2,500 executions per monthPro: 10,000 executions per monthBusiness: 40,000 executions per month
- Pipedream Development is free; serving real external users in production requires Startup.Free: Development only; a daily credit limit that cannot be exceeded and a limited number of connected accounts.Startup: 10,000 usage credits per month
- Trigger polling
- n8n Each scheduled run is an execution: a daily schedule is 30 or 31 executions a month, and a 5-minute schedule about 8,600 to 8,900.
- Pipedream An event source from the public registry, including a polling source, runs free when it triggers a workflow, on every plan; A private custom source is charged for all compute time, including the first 30 seconds
- Premium integrations
- n8n Every plan includes every integration, unlimited users and unlimited workflows.
- Pipedream Managed auth for 3,000+ APIs, 10,000+ prebuilt tools and triggers, and MCP servers on every plan.Business: Volume pricing for users and usage; SSO, SCIM and HIPAA; Dedicated static egress IPs; SLAs and dedicated Slack support
- AI charges
- n8n Assistant credits for AI-assisted building: 1,600 a month on Starter, 4,000 or 9,600 on Pro, none on Enterprise; Free trials include 800 Assistant credits; Credits refresh monthly, do not roll over, and extra credits can be bought; On self-hosted n8n you bring your own AI key and no credit limit applies
- Pipedream AI agent tool calls through MCP use 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute, like any action.
- Overage charges
- n8n Business: Workflows keep running over quota; overage is EUR 4,000 per extra 300,000 executions, invoiced 45 days later if you do not upgrade.
- Pipedream Credits above the included amount are added to the next billing period's invoice.Startup: USD 0.012 per credit beyond 10,000 a month, lower at higher volume; USD 2 a month per external user beyond 100
Limits to check
- n8n The Business plan is available only for self-hosted n8n, not on n8n Cloud.
- Pipedream Pipedream Workflows and String shut down on March 31, 2027; Workflows are in maintenance mode: existing workflows run until then, with no new features; New Workflows sign-ups and subscriptions are no longer accepted; Pipedream Connect is not affected
Not verified yet
Every compared requirement has evidence for at least one.
Documented for one product only, shown in the table below: n8n: hosting responsibility.
Not verified means our reviewed sources do not establish it. It does not mean a product lacks the capability or that it costs nothing.
Next steps
- Ask Pipedream about hosting responsibility; our sources do not establish it yet.
| Requirement | n8n | Pipedream |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | From €24/mo | From $150/mo |
| Who it is for | Workflow automation priced by monthly workflow executions, regardless of complexity. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ | Pipedream Connect: SDKs and APIs that add 3,000+ integrations to your own app or AI agent. The standalone Workflows product is closing; see coverage limits. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: plans, Connect credits and Workflows credits |
| Coverage limits | The Business plan is available only for self-hosted n8n, not on n8n Cloud. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ | Pipedream Workflows and String shut down on March 31, 2027; Workflows are in maintenance mode: existing workflows run until then, with no new features; New Workflows sign-ups and subscriptions are no longer accepted; Pipedream Connect is not affected All Workflows data, including credentials and OAuth tokens, is deleted by April 30, 2027. An export tool downloads workflow structure as JSON, one project at a time. Subscriptions are cancelled on March 31, 2027 with a prorated refund. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: Workflows and String shutdown notice |
| Usage definition | One execution is one run of a whole workflow, however many steps it has or how much data it processes. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ | External user: each distinct user of your app who connects at least one account; one user with five connected apps counts once; Usage credit: 30 seconds of compute for an action run, an MCP tool call, a Connect proxy request or an event emitted by a deployed trigger; Listing apps and accounts, configuring components and other management calls use no credits Workflows, until the shutdown, use one credit per 30 seconds of compute per workflow segment at 256 MB; step count does not matter, and doubling memory doubles credits. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ |
| Included volume | The n8n Cloud free trial includes 1,000 executions, 5 concurrent executions, a 180-second execution timeout and 1 team project. No credit card is required for the Cloud trial. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ
| Development is free; serving real external users in production requires Startup. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ
|
| Trigger polling | Each scheduled run is an execution: a daily schedule is 30 or 31 executions a month, and a 5-minute schedule about 8,600 to 8,900. No minimum schedule interval is stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ | An event source from the public registry, including a polling source, runs free when it triggers a workflow, on every plan; A private custom source is charged for all compute time, including the first 30 seconds The polling interval is not stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: plans, Connect credits and Workflows credits |
| Premium integrations | Every plan includes every integration, unlimited users and unlimited workflows. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ | Managed auth for 3,000+ APIs, 10,000+ prebuilt tools and triggers, and MCP servers on every plan. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ
|
| Hosting responsibility | On n8n Cloud, n8n hosts and maintains the service; self-hosting means you provide and manage the infrastructure and maintenance. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n docs: choose n8n Cloud or self-hosted
| Not verified |
| AI charges | Assistant credits for AI-assisted building: 1,600 a month on Starter, 4,000 or 9,600 on Pro, none on Enterprise; Free trials include 800 Assistant credits; Credits refresh monthly, do not roll over, and extra credits can be bought; On self-hosted n8n you bring your own AI key and no credit limit applies Assistant is in preview. The price of extra credits is not stated. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · n8n pricing page with annual billing and FAQ | AI agent tool calls through MCP use 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute, like any action. No separate AI model charge is listed. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream pricing page: Connect plans, plan table and FAQ |
| Overage charges |
| Credits above the included amount are added to the next billing period's invoice. Verified Oct 11, 2026 · Pipedream docs: plans, Connect credits and Workflows credits
|
| Coverage note | n8n Cloud stores data in the EU, on servers in Frankfurt, Germany. |